Edo-Tokyo Open-Air Architectural Museum

Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum Tokyo Weekender

If you are interested in Japanese history and the role of architecture in understanding different periods, this museum is a must-see. The concept is quite unique as the museum is actually outdoors, and it’s located right in the magnificent Koganei park, which feels kilometers away from Tokyo, even though it’s still in the city.

The museum has been relocating and reconstructing buildings in accordance with the requirements for preservation and salvaging the few architectural remains that were spared from fires, earthquakes, floods and warfare throughout the course of Japanese history.

All the buildings are characteristic to different historical periods, and a handful are built by famous Japanese architects. Most of the buildings exhibited are from the Meiji Period (1868-1912) and more recent times, and include among others, a politician’s elegant former residence, a farmhouse, a photo studio, a public bathhouse, various shops, restaurants and a police box.

You can enter all the houses and shops if you’re patient enough to take slipping in and out of your shoes each time. You can tour the houses and make yourself at home, pretending to cook in the kitchen or sit on the sofas and chairs. Our favorite house was a simple wooden house from the Edo period, which presented gorgeous tatami floors and sliding doors.

How Much: ¥200-¥400

Address: Koganei Park, 3-7-1 Sakurachō, Koganei-shi

Website: tatemonoen.jp/english/

Tel: 03-5379-5668

There are no discount coupons for this location available at the moment, but please make sure to join our mailing list to receive the latest offers and discounts for locations all over Tokyo.

You may also like

Locale Meguro: How Owner Katy Cole is Making A Fresh Mark On Tokyo’s Farm-to-Table Scene

Locale, a 20-seat restaurant in Meguro’s heart, is as cozy…

Fight-Themed Restaurants in Tokyo: For Fans of Pro-Wrestling, Samurai and Muscle Mania

Whether you’re a pro wrestling fan, a gym junkie, or…

Enjoy a Hearty Helping of Farm-Fresh Noodles at Ramen Kamuro

Walking into Ramen Kamuro, the long wooden bench and barstools…

Meet Tokyo’s “New Wave” Chefs: New Book Offers Intimate Insights into Their Stories

Most creatives who have lived in Tokyo for some length…

Harry’s Sandwich Co: A Tasty, Casual Slice of America in Harajuku

Tucked away on the third floor of an ageing building,…

A Fresh Take on Sushi at Edo Tokyo Sushitsune Solamachi Restaurant

Directly connected to Tokyo Skytree, Edo Tokyo Sushitsune in Tokyo…

View Comments

Powered by ENGAWA K.K.


© 2018 - 2019 Tokyo Weekender All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction prohibited.