Japanese Music Superstar Yoshiki to Compose Theme for 2012 Golden Globe Awards

Music Trends Trends & Culture - January 12th, 2012

Yoshiki, the classically trained multi-instrumentalist and leader of one of Japan’s most successful rock groups, X Japan, will compose the theme for this year’s Golden Globe Awards show it was revealed today.

The announcement was made today by Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) president Dr. Aida Takla-O’Reilly and dick clark productions (dcp) executive vice president, television, Barry Adelman.

The 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards airs internationally in more than 190 countries (please check local listings).

In the U.S., it will be broadcast LIVE coast-to-coast on NBC on Sunday, January 15, 2012, with the pre-show from 4:00-5:00p.m. (PST)/7:00-8:00p.m. (EST), and main telecast from 5:00-8:00p.m. (PST)/8:00-11:00p.m., (EST), hosted by Ricky Gervais from the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

“Yoshiki is a world-renowned musician and composer of enormous talent and versatility, who in addition to being a rock superstar has composed for film and television,” said Takla-O’Reilly. ”

As an international organization dedicated to creative achievements, the HFPA is delighted to have a global musical artist of Yoshiki’s stature create the theme for the show.”

Added Adelman, “We look forward to incorporating Yoshiki’s music into the production of the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards.”

“The Golden Globe Awards are extremely prestigious, but the show is also edgy,” said Yoshiki, who attended the awards presentation for the first time last year.

“I’m a classical pianist and a rock drummer, so it was natural to create something beautiful that also has an edge.”