Goto Tenobe Udon Yabu no Tsubaki Nakameguro

Facing Yamatedori is a stylish izakaya decorated in white and red camellia flowers, called Goto Tenobe Udon Yabu no Tsubaki Nakameguro, or Yabu no Tsubaki for short.

Step inside and find even more camellia flowers — they represent one of the island region’s specialties: camellia oil. The nostalgic atmosphere of the wooden interior is welcoming and the layout of counters and separate tables make it the perfect spot for both single customers and groups.

Nagasaki Prefecture’s Goto Islands, the Goto namesake of this restaurant, are famed for their signature hand-stretched udon, which are thinner and have a chewier consistency than your average noodle. You can try your hand at cooking these yourself at your table —a rare treat not often afforded izakaya visitors.

How Much: Dinner from ¥3,000 per session

Address: 1F El Alcazar Nakameguro, 1-28-3 Aobadai, Meguro-ku

Website: kiwa-group.co.jp/yabunotsubaki_nakameguro

Tel: 03-6303-2450

There are no discount coupons for this location available at the moment, but please make sure to join our mailing list to receive the latest offers and discounts for locations all over Tokyo.

You may also like

Locale Meguro: How Owner Katy Cole is Making A Fresh Mark On Tokyo’s Farm-to-Table Scene

Locale, a 20-seat restaurant in Meguro’s heart, is as cozy…

Fight-Themed Restaurants in Tokyo: For Fans of Pro-Wrestling, Samurai and Muscle Mania

Whether you’re a pro wrestling fan, a gym junkie, or…

Enjoy a Hearty Helping of Farm-Fresh Noodles at Ramen Kamuro

Walking into Ramen Kamuro, the long wooden bench and barstools…

Meet Tokyo’s “New Wave” Chefs: New Book Offers Intimate Insights into Their Stories

Most creatives who have lived in Tokyo for some length…

Harry’s Sandwich Co: A Tasty, Casual Slice of America in Harajuku

Tucked away on the third floor of an ageing building,…

A Fresh Take on Sushi at Edo Tokyo Sushitsune Solamachi Restaurant

Directly connected to Tokyo Skytree, Edo Tokyo Sushitsune in Tokyo…

View Comments

Powered by ENGAWA K.K.


© 2018 - 2019 Tokyo Weekender All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction prohibited.